top of page

Quiggy's cool, I'm freaking out


Last night I couldn't sleep. I couldn't breathe. My heart was racing and my mind was in overdrive. There was only 13 more sleeps until we fly out and I spend one of them having a panic attack.

Maybe I shouldn't have watched 'A Place to Call Home'. The irony was not timed well.

Perhaps it's because the removalists are coming tomorrow and there's boxes and stuff I don't know what to do with, everywhere.

It could be the checklist of 'things to do' running through my brain - cancel utilities, notify banks, redirect post, update change of address (to where?), clean oven, return library books, freeze health insurance, undo everything Quiggy has packed and pack it again properly.

Or maybe it's looking at my ONE baggage allowance and wondering how the firetruck do I pack that FOR A YEAR!

Breathe....calm yourself....think of the fun you'll have.

After tossing and turning, and stressing and panicking, I roll over in bed to see Quiggy all calm and relaxed and cool as a cucumber. I ask "are you scared at all about going away?", "Not a bit" he said, "it's going to be great".

And with that I closed my eyes and smiled. It doesn't happen often but this time he was right.

#Back to normal heart rate

#Skip the anxiety

#Go, it will be great!

bottom of page